Greg "The Chief" Puhalski to be inducted into the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame


    Greg Puhalski of the Storm is held by a Wheeling player during a 1994 game. Known as "The Chief," Puhalski is the latest member of the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame.


  • Greg Puhalski, a high-scoring center with the Toledo Storm in the 1990s, will be inducted into the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame next year.

    Nicknamed “The Chief,” Puhalski played for the Storm from 1991-94 and led the team to two ECHL championships.

    Puhalski ranks fourth on the Storm's all-time scoring list with 225 points on 70 goals and 155 assists in just 123 games. He guided Toledo to Riley Cups in 1993 and 1994.

    The native of Fort Williams, Ont., later became the organization's second coach in 1994-95. Puhalski posted a 162-85-31 record in four years as the Storm qualified for the postseason each year.

    Known for his soft hands, Puhalski tallied 53 points in 35 playoff games. He scored 20 goals with 33 assists for Toledo in the Riley Cup playoffs.

    Puhalski then coached nine seasons in the United Hockey League with Port Huron, Fort Wayne, and Chicago before coaching the Wheeling Nailers in the ECHL for three seasons (2007-10). He currently is the head coach of his alma mater, Wilfrid Laurier University in Ontario.

    Puhalski joins Maurice “Moe” Benoit (Blades) and John McGrath (Mercurys) in the latest hall class.

    The Walleye organization will announce the final two members of the 2019 class Thursday and Friday.

    The Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame was created to honor individuals who shaped the city’s hockey heritage. The selection of the candidates is determined by the Toledo Hockey Hall of Fame committee, made up of former coaches, players, team historians, and media. Fans also have input during the voting phase.

    The hall of fame event is Jan. 18-21, in conjunction with ECHL all-star weekend. The hall of fame luncheon will be Jan. 20.

    Contact Mark Monroe at: mmonroe@theblade.com419-724-6354, or on Twitter @MonroeBlade.